“I’ve never been ‘in’ the cult.”

Posted: August 22, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve never been a Scn’ist. However, I’ve been in the anti-this-cult movement for around two decades or thereabouts. Used to be on ars, the newsgroup in usenet.

I very much appreciate those people who have never been touched by Scientology’s evil, but still want to join the cause. You guys are awesome. My best friends…really my adoptive family, had hardly heard of Scientology before I shared my story.

I just wanted to take this opportunity to say something. Don’t think for a moment that because you’ve never been ‘in’ that you can’t understand the plight of those who have been put through the ringer.

I would never wish it on anyone to go through that. I find that people who have never been involved relate perfectly fine to my plight. In fact, I made a major discovery on my way out. Abuse is abuse, no matter where it comes from. The effect it has on it’s victims is very similar.

The difference comes during our path to recovery, because everyone recovers differently.

Comments
  1. Marta says:

    “…everyone recovers differently.” Amen! You mentioned in an earlier post how Scientology works to replace your personality with that of a “Scientologist”. I think that as we recover from it one of the big challenges is getting used to dealing with each others differences and learning to work and socialize in ways that are respectful of differences. The “skills” about communicating, understanding, and resolving conflicts with each other that are taught (indoctrinated) in Scientology are so laced with hyper focus on perfection and agreement at all costs, that they become weaknesses rather than strengths.

Please comment!

